Massachusetts Law requires you to contribute a set of percentage of your salary and an additional 2% on any salary over $30,000 by regular payroll deductions. Your rate of contribution is determine by the date on which you first became eligible for membership in a Massachusetts Contributory Retirement System and maintained your funds on deposit.
Date of Membership
Rate of Contribution
Before January 1, 1975
January 1, 1975 - December 31, 1983
January 1, 1984 - June 30, 1996
July 1, 1996 - or after
Whether or not you are subject to the additional 2% for the compensation over $30,000 is also determine by your membership date.
Membership before January 1, 1979 are NOT subject to 2%
Membership on or after January 1, 1979 are subject to 2%